Urban Design Award Winners 2012

The Urban Design Group's annual awards event for 2012 took place on Wednesday 15 February in the prestigious surroundings of the Royal United Services Institute, 61 Whitehall, London.

Hosted by Rob Cowan, the evening showcased some of the best examples of urban design work produced in the UK and beyond over the past twelve months.  Awards were presented in five categories by Janet Tibbalds on the behalf of theFrancis Tibbalds Trust.

The winners in each of the five categories were as follows:

Practice  Award

Joint winners:

  • Studio REAL - Moat Lane, Towcester
  • URBED - Brentford Lock West

Also shortlisted:

  • John Thompson & Partners - Suzhou Eco-town
  • NEW Masterplanning - Greyfriars, Gloucester
  • NJBA+U - RUSH 2020 Strategic View
  • Richards Partington - Howden Urban Extension Masterplan

Public Sector Award

Winner: Exeter City Council - Exeter Residential Design SPD

  • Carlisle City Council - Castle Street public realm scheme
  • Partnership for Urban South Hampshire – Quality Places Charter
  • Gateshead Council- Freight Depot Visioning Document
  • Planning Aid for London and Knott Architects- Tactile City Model
  • North East Derbyshire District Council- Urban Design Academy 

Student Award

Winner: Ian Brodie (University of Strathclyde) - Gallowgate Renewal

  • Ralf Furuland (Edinburgh College of Art)- Radical Reconstruction
  • Dongni Yao (University of Cardiff)- St Pauls Neighbourhood, Bristol

Publisher Award

Winner:Ashgate - Learning from Delhi: Dispersed Initiatives in Changing Urban Landscapes, Maurice Mitchell, Shamoon Patwari and Bo Tang

  • RIBA Publishing -NewcastleGateshead: Shaping the City, Peter Hetherington,
  • Routledge -Urban Design: The Composition of complexity, Ron Kasprisin
  • Wiley - Urban Design Since 1945:  A Global Perspective, D G Shane

The Lifetime Achievement Award for 2012 was presented to the team behind the pioneering and influential study of placemaking Responsive Environments – Sue McGlynn, Graham Smith, Ian Bentley, Alan Alcock and Paul Murrrain

This event was sponsored by Routledge Publishers,  Atkins and  Francis Tibbalds Planning.