UDG Annual General Meeting & New Executive Committee, 2012-13

The Urban Design Group AGM took place at 6pm on Wednesday 20 June 2012 in The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ

The evening saw Amanda Reynolds stand down as Chair of the Urban Design Group, having reached the end of her two year tenure.  She was thanked for the energy and enthusiasm with which she has led the Group, helping to bring a new vibrancy though many highly successful events and conferences, supporting the development of the Urban Design Awards and the implementation of a number of practical improvements (e.g. new website; Direct Debit). However the UDG will not be losing Amanda who will remain as a member of the committee.

Amanda is succeeded as chair by Paul Reynolds, whose nomination for the role was unchallenged. Colin Pullan will continue for a second year as UDG Treasurer.

There was one new election to the Executive Committee for 2012-13, namely Serena Yao who is based in Cardiff and was a finalist for the 2012 UDG Student Award. Existing committee members Riccardo Bobisse, Philip Cave, Duncan Ecob, Sebastian Loew, Colin Munsie, Katy Neaves, Barry Sellers and Alan Stones, as well as Amanda Reynolds, were all re-elected.

Long-standing committee members Ben van Bruggen and Graham Smith, as well as Andrew Dakin, all agreed to continue their invaluable work for the UDG and will be co-opted to the Committee at its first meeting in July.

Finally sincere thanks were extended to those former committee members choosing to step down in 2012 including two members of very long standing, John Billingham and Jack Warshaw. Both were applauded for their many years of work and commitment to the UDG; John’s pivotal role in a number of the UDG’s major initiatives and outputs of recent years (such as the journal, the directory and the Urban Design Awards) was singled out for particular note. Niltay Tosun-Erdem will also stand down after one year on the Committee; however she will continue her involvement with the STREET network and it is hoped she will stand for re-election in the future.

The full list of members elected to the Executive Committee is as follows and biographical information for each member can be viewed here.

The following members have been nominated to join the UDG Executive Committee  for 2012-13

The following  members  will be co-opted to the UDG Executive Committee at its first meeting  in July 2012

 Paul Reynolds (nominated as Chair)

Ben van Bruggen

 Colin Pullan (nominated as Treasurer)

Andrew Dakin

 Riccardo Bobisse

Graham Smith

Philip Cave


Duncan Ecob


Sebastian Loew


Colin Munsie


Katy Neaves


Amanda Reynolds


Barry Sellers


Alan Stones


Serena Yao