

# **Urban Design Group**

### AGM 2014: Minutes

The Annual General Meeting of the Urban Design Group was held at 6pm on Wednesday 18 June 2014 in The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, London.

The meeting was chaired by Paul Reynolds, outgoing Chair of the Urban Design Group Executive Committee.

## 1. Welcome & apologies for absence

All present were welcomed to the meeting. Apologies for absence were received from UDG Executive Committee members Sebastian Loew and Stefan Kruczkowski and co-opted members Ben van Bruggen, Andrew Dakin and Graham Smith as well as John Billingham.

# 2. Minutes of the 2013 AGM

The minutes of the 2012 AGM (held on 24 June 2013) were agreed, being proposed by Arnold Linden and seconded by Alan Stones.

### 3. Annual Report and Accounts, 2013-14

The Annual Report and Accounts were presented to the assembled audience.

Paul Reynolds briefly highlighted two significant points:

#### Events

The Group continues to run a diverse and popular programme of frequent events both in Cowcross Street and elsewhere throughout the UK. In order to sustain the momentum members were strongly encouraged to get involved with new ideas and practical support for this activity.

Membership review and subscription rate increases

The subscription rate increases implemented in January 2014, as a result of the recent membership review, have been supportively received by the membership and they appear to achieving the desired outcome of significantly increasing the UDG's incoming resources. Paul Reynolds and UDG Treasurer Colin Pullan were thanked for their efforts in carrying out the review and leading these important changes.

The Annual Report & Accounts were duly accepted, being proposed by Amanda Reynolds and seconded by Philip Cave,

# 4. Election of Executive Committee & Officers

Katy Neaves was elected to succeed Paul Reynolds as Chair of the Urban Design Group. Her nomination was unchallenged. Paul Reynolds will continue as a member of the Executive Committee and Colin Pullan was elected as Treasurer for another year.

There was one new election to the Executive Committee for 2014-15, namely Matthias Wunderlich of Urban Initiatives Studio, a long-standing UDG practice member and winner of the 2014 UDG Practice Award. Existing committee members Philip Cave, Jérémy Hernalesteen, Sebastian Loew, Colin Munsie, Amanda Reynolds, Barry Sellers and Alan Stones, as well as Paul Reynolds, were all re-elected.

Long-standing committee members Ben van Bruggen and Graham Smith, as well as Andrew Dakin (corresponding member), all agreed to continue their invaluable work for the UDG and

#### Robert Huxford

Director Robert.huxford@udg.org.uk Tel: 020 7250 0892

#### Louise Ingledow

Development Manager louise.ingledow@udg.org.uk Tel: 020 7250 0892

### **Urban Design Group**

70 Cowcross Street London EC1M 6EJ

#### **Patrons**

Irena Bauman Alan Baxter Sir Richard MacCormac Dickon Robinson Helle Sohølt Lindsey Whitelaw John Worthington

www.udg.org.uk Charity no. 326123



will be co-opted to the new Committee at its first meeting in July. Stefan Kruczkowski and Laura Alvarez, the UDG's East Midlands co-ordinators, will also be co-opted.

The full list of members elected to the Executive Committee is as follows:

The following members have been nominated to join the UDG Executive Committee for 2014-15	The following members will be co-opted to the UDG Executive Committee at its first meeting in July 2014
Katy Neaves (Chair) Colin Pullan (Treasurer) Philip Cave Jeremy Hernalesteen Sebastian Loew Colin Munsie	Laura Alvarez Ben van Bruggen Stefan Kruczkowski Graham Smith
Amanda Reynolds Paul Reynolds Barry Sellers Alan Stones Matthias Wunderlich	Andrew Dakin (corresponding member)

The new Executive Committee was duly appointed, being proposed by Barry Sellers and seconded by Amanda Reynolds.

# 5. <u>Vote of thanks for retiring Chair</u>

UDG Director Robert Huxford extended sincere thanks to retiring Chair Paul Reynolds. Paul was praised for his great commitment and enthusiasm over the past two years, particularly in driving through the membership review and the recent restructuring of subscription rates and packages, an essential step in securing the Group's future vitality. In recognition of his efforts he was presented with a Gritstone sett, reflecting his interest in paving materials.

# 6. Any other business

No other matters were raised for discussion

[end]

### Robert Huxford

Director Robert.huxford@udg.org.uk Tel: 020 7250 0892

#### Louise Ingledow

Development Manager louise.ingledow@udg.org.uk Tel: 020 7250 0892

#### **Urban Design Group**

70 Cowcross Street London EC1M 6EJ

### **Patrons**

Irena Bauman Alan Baxter Sir Richard MacCormac Dickon Robinson Helle Sohølt Lindsey Whitelaw John Worthington

www.udg.org.uk Charity no. 326123