Past UDG Events


The Urban Design Group holds regular events in London at The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, EC1M 6EM unless otherwsie stated. There are usually one or two per month and are open to the general public as well as members.



The Victory Servces Club, 63-79 Seymour St, London W2 2HF
Wed, 09/03/2016 - 6:15pm - 10:15pm
An evening featuring the finest achievements in Urban Design  Practice Award  - Francis Tibbalds £1000 Award Public Sector Award Book Award Student Award – Francis Tibbalds...
Argent, 4 Stable Street, London N1C 4AB (next to Central St Martins)
Wed, 10/02/2016 - 6:30pm - 8:45pm
A view of what public realm has been created, how it's financed and managed Chaired by Philip Cave, with Anna Strongman, Partner at Argent, and  Victor Callister, now Deputy Director at...
The Gallery 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 13/01/2016 - 6:20pm - 8:10pm
Film Night  - introduced by Paul Reynolds   https://vimeo.com/78106436 Free event  - All welcome.   Dress code (optional) - smock and straw hat. 
The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 02/12/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:20pm
Celebrate the best in urban design and the onset of the festive season at this Urban Design Group event Wednesday 2nd December 2015 18.20-20.20 Venue: Gallery, 70 Cowcross St, EC1M 6EJ Come and enjoy...
The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 11/11/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:30pm
Featuring papers from the latest edition of Urban Design, with speakers including: Andy von Bradsky, of PRP Architects on the latest issues in Affordable Housing Amy Burbidge, on how four local...
Bristol - The SS Great Britain Museum and Conference Centre
Thu, 08/10/2015 - 1:00pm - Sat, 10/10/2015 - 5:00pm
Development, Design and Profit in C21 How developers and society can profit from well designed towns and cities a conference for all professionals, politicians and academics involved in design and...
70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 16/09/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:10pm
 For many cities, growing up and out is no longer sufficient to meet their development needs.  Urben will host an event introducing key considerations and innovations in planning and...
Castlefield, Manchester
Wed, 26/08/2015 - 5:50pm - 8:30pm
The Landscape Institute and STREET NW | Urban Design Group would like you to join us for an evening of sketching in Castlefield. The evening will be hosted by Simone Ridyard, Manchester Urban...
The Gallery, 70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Mon, 20/07/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:20pm
What does science tell us about designing cities that make the most of the weather, and shield us from extremes.  This event sees a lecuture on a book that provides the insight, "Weather in...
Wed, 08/07/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:20pm
Looking at the potential for cities to enterprise the future of their areas by taking an active commercial lead. Led by John Worthington   Joint with the Academy of Urbanism
70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 10/06/2015 - 6:00pm - 8:20pm
This evening combines the Annual General Meeting of the Urban Design Group - to which all members are welcome - 6.00 start, with the second of a two part event series on Garden Cities, examining the...
Sat, 06/06/2015 - 12:00pm - Sun, 14/06/2015 - 12:00pm
Thirty years ago the Urban Design Group visited the bastides of the Dordogne and the Lot. We are now returning to look at examples in the neighbouring region of Gascony. Bastides are planned towns...
Mon, 11/05/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:20pm
Is ever-increasing density the solution to accommodating increased population, or is there an optimum range, not only for health, wellbeing and happiness, but also for practicality and financial...
Wed, 06/05/2015 - 6:00pm - Wed, 27/05/2015 - 6:00pm
The Academy of Urbanism, Urban Design Group and several Urban Design practices have come together to bring you this cross-professional series of FREE events. 4x4 Manchester  will happen...
Fri, 01/05/2015 - 1:45pm - Sun, 03/05/2015 - 1:45pm
On Friday May 1st ­to Sunday May 3rd 2015, thousands of people around the world will come together to walk and talk about what makes a good city for the Jane’s Walk festival. The festival...
Wed, 29/04/2015 - 5:50pm - 8:00pm
STREET NW would like to invite you to NOMA 53° on the 29th April to not only explore and the learn about the wider scheme but to also share your ideas with the Development Team to shape the...
Building Centre, 26 Store Street, London WC1E 7BT
Mon, 27/04/2015 - 9:23am - Sat, 09/05/2015 - 9:23am
UK-China Industrial Heritage Re-use and Regeneration Forum and Exhibition Forum: 29 April 2015 at 9:30 am - 6:00 pm Exhibition: 27April to 9th May 2015 Location: Building Centre, 26 Store Street,...
70 Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6EJ
Wed, 22/04/2015 - 6:20pm - 8:10pm
Are our towns and cities making us sad, sick and lonely?   What design and management options encourage people to be sociable, active, and eat a better diet? Introduced by Barry Sellers...
Hamburg, Germany
Thu, 09/04/2015 - 12:00am - Sun, 12/04/2015 - 12:00pm
Hamburg is the latest port city to redevelop its docks and create a new district, Hafen City. Though this huge project covering 155 hectares will not be completed until 2025, there is enough on the...
Thu, 19/03/2015 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Urban Design Group Solent region Thursday 19.03.15 Time: 4.00pm Venue: Savills, Floor 8, 2 Charlotte Place, Southampton. SO14 0TB Attendance: To be circulated at meeting Meeting objective: To provide...