Thirty Years of the Urban Design Group

The foundation of the UDG is dated to 22 November 1978, when Francis Tibbalds, Keith Ingham, Percy Johnson-Marshall, Kevin Eastham and others convened a meeting at the RIBA under the title 'Architects in Planning'. Arnold Linden, an early member of the UDG, recalls: 'They did so knowing full well that the institutes of architecture and of planning no longer recognised each other's legitimate role in the creation of the urban scene. The public realm had become, by default, largely the consequences of mechanistic decisions by highways, traffic and municipal engineers.'

The name Urban Design Group was soon coined, with the subtitle: 'a forum for architects, landscape architects and designers in planning'. Arnold Linden notes: 'The group held from its inception that everyone acting in the environment was an urban designer, whether they were performing positively, negatively or just passively, because the decisions they make (or disregard) affect the quality of urban spaces.'

The Name:

Architects in Planning (November 1978)

Designers in Planning Group (January 1979)

Urban Design Group (since February 1979)

Kevin Lynch Memorial Lecture:

1986 Leon Krier

1987 Norman St John Stevas

1988 Sir Roy Strong

1989 Sir Philip Dowson

1990 Tony Coombes

1992 Peter Hall

1993 Patrick Hodgkinson

1994 Sir Peter Shepheard

1995 Sherban Cantacuzino

1996 Cedric Price

1997 Charles Jencks

1998 Ricky Burdett

1999 Rem Koolhaas

2000 Stefan Schroth

2001 Dickon Robinson

2002 West 8

2003 David Lunts

2004 Alfonso Vegara

2005 Hank Dittmar

2006 Peter Bishop

2007 Philip Singleton and Kelvin Campbell

2008 Peter Heath

2009 John Thorp

2010 Sir Richard MacCormac

2011 Christopher Alexander

2012 The Responsive Environments Team (Graham Smith, Sue McGlynn & Ian Bentley)

Annual UDG Lecture:

1993 Richard Rogers

1994 Zaha Hadid

1995 Piers Gough

1996 Terry Farrell

1997 Michael Cassidy

1998 Peter Hall

1999 Jon Rouse

2000 Alan Baxter

2002 Les Sparks

2003 Ken Yeang

2004 Sir Peter Hall

2005 Sebastian Loew

UDG Lifetime Achievement Award:

2011 Prof Christopher Alexander

2012 The Responsive Environments Team (Sue McGlynn, Graham Smith, Alan Alcock, Paul Murrain & Ian Bentley)

2013 Kelvin Campbell


Roy Worskett 1983-85

Terry Farrell 1985-89

John Worthington 1989-91, 1992-93

Francis Tibbalds 1991-92


Francis Tibbalds 1979-86

Arnold Linden 1986-89

Lawrence Revill 1989-91

Kelvin Campbell 1991-92

Jon Rowland 1992-97

Roger Evans 1997-2000

Marcus Wilshere 2000-02

Alan Stones 2002-04

Barry Sellers 2004-06

Ben van Bruggen 2006-8

Duncan Ecob 2008-10

Amanda Reynolds 2010-12

Paul Reynolds 2012-14

Katy Neaves 2014-

Current Patrons of the Urban Design Group:

Alan Baxter

Irena Bauman

Dickon Robinson

Helle Soholt

Lindsey Whitelaw

John Worthington

Previous Patrons:

Tom Bloxham

Honor Chapman

Sir Philip Dowson

Sir Terry Farrell

Colin Fudge

Nicky Gavron

Sir Peter Hall

Simon Jenkins

Sir Richard MacCormac

Jane Priestman

Les Sparks